Anti-Corruption Bureau

Anti-Corruption Bureau is a specialized agency under Karnataka Government responsible for collection of intelligence with regard to corruption, maintaining liaison with the various Departments of Government through their Vigilance Officers, enquiries into complaints about bribery and corruption, investigation and prosecution of offences pertaining to bribery and corruption and tasks relating to preventive aspects of corruption. The Bureau handles all cases registered under the provisions of Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988. Besides this, the Bureau conducts enquiries based on the information/petitions received from various agencies like Government, Lokayukta, etc. and also on the information/petitions received from the public containing specific and verifiable allegations of corruption against Public Servants.


This Bureau was established by the G.O No. DPAR 14 SELOU 2016, Dated 14th March 2016 and functions directly under the administrative control of the DEPARTMENT OF PERSONNEL & ADMINISTRATIVE REFORMS (DPAR) of Karnataka state Government. The Bureau is headed by a senior IPS Officer of the rank of Addl. Director General of Police.   An Officer of the rank of Inspector General of Police in turn assists ADGP.   The Bureau is having two S.Ps. i.e., SP, Headquarters and SP, Administration.  The Bureau is divided into 7 Ranges in the State. i.e Central Range, Southern Range, Eastern Range, Western Range, Northern Range, North-Eastern Range, Bellari Range.  Each range is headed by a rank of Superintendent of Police and comprises 3-4 Districts.  Each District has a ACB Police Station headed by Officer of the rank of Dy. Superintendent of Police who is the Station House Officer. 

Bangalorean will cover all the activities from ACB.